Promo video for Kantoj de Fermiteco Jazzfest Berlin w. guest Marc Ribot 06.11.21

Click on the photo to watch the full concert w. Marc Ribot on arte concert:

MeoW’s debut album “MICE!”  Click here to check out “MICE!” on Bandcamp

MeoW on arte.tv – live performance in Berlin Jazz Fest 2020 


Anthony Braxton’s Sonic Genome- Jazzfest Berlin 20219

Cansu Tanrıkulu feat Greg Cohen & Tobias Delius – Kantoj de Fermiteco

“Spooky moods. Powerful playing. Telepathic communication. A beautiful and adventurous collection of surrealistic sonic tableaux by three master musicians.” John Zorn

New album  “Kantoj de Fermiteco” to be released on LowSwing Records in November (2021)

Read More Here 


“Cansu Tanrıkulu has that rare quality of creating art that is beyond description. A warrior as an improvisor, a reflective and adventurous composer, and a voice that can either melt your heart or make it jump a beat.”

Greg Cohen

“Doch Cansu Tanrikulus Stimme ist mehr als das, ein flexibles Monument, eine Naturgewalt, ein Ereignis, das sich über Raum und Zeit hinwegsetzt und sich doch immer mitten im Hier und Jetzt offenbart. Diese Stimme erfüllt keinen Selbstzweck. Sie ist nicht nur um ihrer selbst willen schön, beeindruckend und ergreifend, sondern Ausdruck einer Persönlichkeit, die tief in die Mysterien der menschlichen Gefühlswelten eindringt und sich dabei nicht selten selbst überrascht, erschreckt oder wundert. Jedes Lied wird bei ihr zur Landschaft, jedes Wort zur Gestalt, jeder Laut zur Eruption.”

Wolf Kampmann


Cansu Tanrıkulu is a singing multi-media artist, composer and improviser based in Berlin. She is one of the busiest young voices in the European Creative Music Scene leading/co-leading multiple bands including Melez (w. Jim Black & Elias Stemeseder), MeoW (w. Jim Black, Liz Kosack & Dan Peter Sunderland) , Tanrıkulu/Cohen/Delius (w. Greg Cohen & Tobias Delius) and Last Chance to Misbehave (w. Julia Hülsmann & Mia Knop Jacobsen).

Her elastic singing, wide stylistic vocabulary and far reaching approach to melody and text-based improvisation made her an in-demand vocalist in multiple genres. She actively performs in renowned platforms of Europe including Jazzfestival Saalfelden, Leipziger Jazztage, Jazzfest Berlin, Barga Jazz Festival, Enjoy Jazz Festival, Belgrade Jazz Festival and many more. As a sideman (Max Andrzejewski’s Hütte & Guests Playing Robert Wyatt’s Music, James Banner’s USINE, Stine Janvin’s Chords for Calling) she regularly tours in Europe and performs in venues including Porgy & Bess (Vienna), Stadtgarten (Köln), Birmingham Symphony Hall and Maxim Gorki Theater (Berlin). 

As a composer and a conceptual thinker Tanrıkulu’s initial instinct is to frame topics that are hard to imagine as musical entities and work with exceptional creative personalities. Her projects are recognised regularly by cultural grants and featured in acclaimed institutions. Currently she is elevating her career with a wide variety of projects as well as working as a recording/performing artist for established international artists (including Anthony Braxton’s Sonic Genome in 2019 for Jazzfest Berlin).

She is a receiver of Jazz-Preis der Karl Hofer Gesselschaft for Soloist (2019) and Elsa Neumann Stipendium – UdK (2021).

Melez ( w. Jim Black & Elias Stemeseder)

World Premiere of Melez in Jazzfest Berlin 2019!! — Click here for the details

Melez, a trio led by vocalist/composer Cansu Tanrıkulu (featuring Jim Black and Elias Stemeseder) realizes a vision of creating an avantgarde-multifaceted-improvisational aesthetic. The music is carved out of improvised sessions and sculpted into compositional figures by Tanrıkulu. In this way the music stays fresh and in the moment, allowing each band member a chance to flex their highly instinctive and developmental lexicons.

Tanrıkulu’s chameleon-like vocals fuse with a “no holds barred” approach to melody and text based improvisations, making her unique as a story-teller. Drummer Jim Black is well known for his limitless musical vocabulary and inventive craftsmanship, helping guide this trio to the apexes they so often achieve. Pianist/keyboardist Elias Stemeseder’s skilful playing, exceptional aesthetic, and confidence shapes and colors the trio in a way only he could create.

  • Melez makes democratic music without boundaries or borders.
  • Melez is as rigid as it is flexible and as lucid as it is opaque.
  • Melez is unapologetic and allergic to inflexible classification.
  • Melez is fresh blood.


Other News on Melez/Tanrıkulu
Tanrıkulu talks about Melez on SWR2 NowJazz with Thomas Loewner 04.10.19
Tanrıkulu on RBB Kulturradio
Review of Melez and JazzFest Berlin 2019 in FreeJazzBlog


03 Feb – Last Chance to Misbehave – A-Trane/Berlin

05 Feb – Last Chance to Misbehave – Winterjazz/ Brelingen

12 Feb – Max Andrzejewski´s Hütte & guests play the music of Robert Wyatt/ Esslingen

21 Feb – w. Keisuke Matsuno – Loft/Köln